“Disappointment is a sort of bankruptcy- the bankruptcy of a soul that extends too much in hope and expectation.”

-Eric Hoffer

I’m a human being. I become excited by things that interest me, I expect the same things out of people that I give to them, and I desire- oh so much- to be happy by the outcome of whatever it is I am anticipating. But, sometimes, I forget that these beings surrounding me are just humans too. They don’t always return the care they receive, they don’t always meet my expectations and, they disappoint…often. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not excluding myself from these words as I write them for I know I do those onto others on occasion, but it hurts a hell of a lot more to have them done onto yourself.

Disappointment is bankruptcy. You know, sometimes I say I’m just going to stop making money (or connections to other people). I’m just going to stop getting my hopes up, and then they can’t be let down. But, it’s not that easy.

Luckily, there is a silver lining. Because, even through all of that, there are special occasions where someone comes along and completely exceeds in any expectation you could have created. Whether they send you a text reminding you that they love you or call you a nickname from an inside joke that you hadn’t remembered until the moment the words escaped their lips, they can catch you by surprise and in the best way possible.

I hate getting my hopes up for fear of disappointment but, sometimes, that one person comes along and makes it all worth it.

~Kay

Leave a Reply

