Quote of the Week

“Take wrong turns. Talk to strangers. Open unmarked doors. And if you see a group of people in a field, go find out what they are doing. Do things without always knowing how they’ll turn out. You’re curious and smart and bored, and all you see is the choice between working hard and slacking off. There are so many adventures that you miss because you’re waiting to think of a plan. To find them, look for tiny interesting choices. And remember that you are always making up the future as you go.”

-Randall Munroe

I’m the type of person that dreams of adventure. The thought of losing myself in a journey that I don’t know the outcome to sounds outrageously enticing. My struggle is getting there. I don’t like to take risks, I worry about whether doing X,Y, and Z will cause me to get hurt, and-like any other person- I worry that people will think I’m crazy for doing it. I know these feelings are normal, but I think it’s time to let them go.

Yeah, it seems a little scary. But life wouldn’t be worth living it weren’t. Imagine the stories you’d get to tell, the memories you would’ve made, the impact people would have on your life. Just writing this gives me the sense of being wonderstruck.

Not too long ago, I was invited by a friend of mine to go to a drive-in movie with him and his friends. Before you get any ideas, this guy and I didn’t have a thing, it wasn’t some super cute date, it was just some guy from my church inviting me to hang out with other people from my church. Now, let me give you some backstory:

At the time of this call, about three weeks ago, I hadn’t been to church in months. Unintentionally, I had completely cut off everyone that I had known there because I didn’t feel like it really mattered to keep in touch with them at that point. When this guy invited me to hang out with them, I said no because I thought they’d ask me a ton of questions and I just knew it would be awkward.

I’ve been wanting to go to a drive-in movie forever! I’ve seen all the vintage photos on pinterest and I wished so much that I could be apart of that. But I said no because I was afraid it’d be awkward! I mean how stupid is that? I missed the one opportunity I had to go because of some brief discomfort I’d have to endure with a group of people. We wouldn’t even have been talking to each other for long because we would have been watching the movie!

Anyway, the point of that story was to show that I missed my one chance to do something I’ve wanted to do for a long time over something incredibly insignificant.

So you know what?

Call that friend you haven’t talked to in a long time. Ask the guy you like on a date. Go for a walk around your neighborhood without any shoes on. Go get a cup of coffee and have a conversation with a complete stranger. When someone asks you if you want to hang out, say yes! whether you know what you’re going to do or not.

Life is full of opportunities for us to enjoy; it’s just our responsibility to take them.

3 thoughts on “Quote of the Week: Missed Adventures

  1. I love this blog post! You’re writing style is so good and I feel so motivated to try new things now haha! I said no to a party last night and now I wish I’d gone so I know exactly how you feel about the movie situation. I’ve followed and would love it if you could do the same? Izzy xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

