IMG_5985

Hello, lovely people!

Of all the makeup products out there, my favorite to use is mascara. Whether I’m wearing a full face of makeup or not, it always opens up my eyes and makes me seem so much more awake and pulled together! I’ve tried my fair share of mascaras in my day, and my latest venture is the Lash Sensational Mascara by Maybelline New York.

So, when I first began using this mascara, I hated it. The formula was too wet, the brush was too big, and I just couldn’t figure out why everyone was loving it so much. After watching a few youtube videos on the mascara and letting it sit in my makeup drawers for about 2 weeks, I finally started to understand the beauty of the product.

IMG_5984

First of all, the packaging is adorable. The rose gold exterior is unlike any other drugstore mascara and makes it seem so much classier and more expensive. Speaking of expensive, I bought this mascara at CVS for $8.99.

IMG_5986IMG_5987

The brush of the mascara is double sided, with shorter bristles on one end and longer bristles on the other. The purpose of that is to have the shorter bristles used the base of the lash, to form volume for the lashes, and the longer bristles are used towards the ends of the lashes to create a longer and fanned out effect. The entire brush, as well, is curved to fit the shape of the eye and allow for the user to get every single lash covered in mascara to achieve the best results.

The formula of the mascara, like I said earlier, began as being very wet and, when I tried to apply it, got all over my eyelids making clean up a pain. After practice with the larger wand, ‘mastering’ the technique of using the double-sided mascara wand, and allowing the mascara to sit-essentially allowing the formula to dry out- the mascara showed its true colors and became the rave worthy beauty product that everyone was talking about.

Here is a side by side picture of one of my eyes with two coats of the mascara on my lashes and one eye without it.

IMG_5999

P.S. I hadn’t done my eyebrows yet, so please excuse them haha

Overall, I’d give this mascara a 7 out of 10 stars, only because of its condition when I first purchased it.

Have you tried out the Lash Sensational mascara? If so, did you like it? If you have any mascaras that you think I should try, leave them in the comments below!

One thought on “Review: Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Leave a Reply

