Cooking with Kay Cover

Hello, lovely people!

I’m back at it again with my second installment of Cooking with Kay, and today I’m making a Kale and Garlic Pasta that I found on Love and Olive Oil.  I know that the recipe calls for spinach, but because I only had kale on hand and they react the same to cooking, I thought the substitution would be alright. Kale seems to be all the rage right now, so I decided to give the healthy vegetable a go and see if it’s worth all of the hype!

Here we go!

IMG_6090

Once again, I gathered all of my ingredients…

IMG_6094

Instead of using regular pasta, I opted for whole wheat as a healthier option for the same amount of flavor…

IMG_6096

When the pasta finished cooking, I took a large sauce pan and began sautéing all of my spices and seasonings…

IMG_6099

Then, I added three handfuls of chopped kale to the same pan. I forgot to take a picture of it, but once the kale had started welting (after about 3 minutes), I added my whole wheat pasta to the sauce pan and combined all of the ingredients…

IMG_6101\

Here’s the end result with some shredded parmesan cheese sprinkled on top! Overall, the pasta was very good! I was a little heavy-handed with the crushed red pepper, so the dish had a nice spice to it that really elevated its flavor profile. One a scale of one to ten, I’d give this recipe a 7. The pasta was good as well as all of the seasonings, but I’ve found that I’m really not that big of a fan of kale haha.

Do you have any other recipes you think I should try? Have you had kale before? Did you like it? Let me know in the comments!

Cover Photo

Leave a Reply

