Quote of the Week~Clutter

“Clutter is not just physical stuff. It’s old ideas, toxic relationships, and bad habits. Clutter is anything that doesn’t support your better self.”

~Eleanor Brown

As the new school year approaches and people are fighting to get in their last summer vacations and pool time photos, it’s time to think about what we want this upcoming year to bring. It’s kind of like New Year resolutions after you realized how overly ambitious you were with the ones you created in January.

My life is filled to the brim with all sorts of things that I need to improve on, get rid of, and begin doing. Things from not being such a control freak to spending more time with new people-whether I think I will enjoy it or not. I, for one, am excited to begin a new chapter of my life that has the potential to be the best or the worst year of my life all depending on the outlook I have.

It’s a time where we should ask ourselves the following:

Are you getting enough hours of sleep? If not, get your eight hours or more so you wake up refreshed and well rested.

Am I holding a grudge towards someone? If so, either confront them about it or come to terms with the fact that they weren’t meant to be in your life, and you need to accept that.

Have I worn that shirt in the last year? If not, get rid of it, and go on a shopping spree!

Am I missing someone that I have the ability to contact? If so, pick up the phone and call them! It’ll make you feel better and make the other person feel loved and appreciated.

Am I happy with my life?

Now, this is a big one. Your answer to this question should dictate the rest of your actions. If the answer is yes, then I’m happy for you. You should be happy with the way your life is going, and I hope you always continue to enjoy the life your living. If your answer is no to that question, then you need to stop what you’re doing, figure out why, and change it. There is something-or multiple things- holding back the happiness you deserve. Whether it’s a person, an act, or even your own thoughts and ideas, it’s toxic clutter, and it’s hurting you. So get it out of your life now before it gets worse!

Life is way too short to not be happy with the way yours is going.

Leave a Reply

