Cooking with Kay Cover

Hello, lovely people!

I’m back with another addition to my Cooking With Kay series! Today, instead of doing my usual baking from scratch, I decided to use a Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie box mix.

To make the brownies, I followed the three simple steps on the back of the box which began with preheating the oven and gathering my ingredients.

FullSizeRender 7

On the box, it said to use water for the mix, but I always use milk in its place, for I think it gives the brownies (or whatever dessert I’m making) a better taste. In addition, I let my eggs sit out for a few hours-before I began baking-to get them to room temperature (disclaimer: I have no idea why I’m supposed to do that! My grandmother and my mother have always done it, so I’ve done it too).

FullSizeRender 6

Afterwards, I put all the ingredients into my bowl and stirred.

FullSizeRender 5

Once my oven came to 350 degrees (fahrenheit), I poured my mix into its pan and placed it into the oven for 40 minutes. The brownies ended up being done with 15 minutes still on the timer, so if you’re going to make these, make sure you keep an eye on them. My kitchen began to fill with the delicious scent of brownies, so I knew the time was about up.

When you take them out, place them on a cooling rack or a silicone pad to allow the brownies to cool for about 10-15 minutes before you cut into them. I know it’ll be hard, but the wait will be well worth it!

After the “long” wait is over, cut into your brownies and enjoy!

FullSizeRender 5

These brownies tasted amazing! They were soft, chewy, and melt-in-your-mouth delicious! Betty Crocker definitely knows what she’s doing!

Do you have any recommendations for future ‘Cooking With Kay’ posts? Have you ever used this brownie mix before? Do you know why you should use room temperature eggs when baking? Let me know in the comments!

Cover Photo

7 thoughts on “Cooking With Kay~Brownies

Leave a Reply

