life is your responsibility.jpg

“Your Attention Please: No one is coming to save you. This life of yours is 100% your responsibility.”

For as long as we remember, the world has told us that someone would save us. Whether it be a superhero, a religious figure, a knight in shining armor, whomever; Someone would be there to pick us up when we were down and magically make everything better for the rest of our lives.

But that’s not the case; and I’m glad it isn’t. Our life is determined by the choices we make and the way we choose to live it. Yes, there are people out there who need help, and by no means am I saying that they shouldn’t be helped because ‘their life is their responsibility,’ but I am also not saying that we should be waiting for someone to help us.

I’m a strong believer in taking the initiative to get shit done. If you want something, go get it because no one is going to get it for you. For a long time, I waited. I waited because I was too goddamn afraid of rejection, of not getting my point across, of failure, of pain, and of loss. But that’s life, and I learned that the hard way. I learned that the world and even the people close to me are not going to help me succeed, they’re not going to make everything alright, and they’re not going to soothe my wounds to help them heal.

That’s my job, and I’ve learned that a sense of responsibility, not only for one’s actions, but for one’s future is a powerful and revolutionary adaptation into one’s life.

Take your life into your own hands and stop waiting for someone else to hand it to you. You are capable and worthy of a magnificent time on Earth, and I truly hope you have one.

~Kay

Cover Photo

One thought on “Quote of the Week~Responsibility

Leave a Reply

