gluten free.png

Hello, lovely people!

Earlier today, I was listening to a podcast by one of my favorite comedians, and she was talking about the fact that she gained 6-7 pounds by straying from her usual gluten-free diet! Now, if you don’t know this already, I love bread. I love bread in all of its shapes and forms and have for as long as I could remember. I always knew it was full of carbs, but I never realized the effect it can have on the body.

For those of you who don’t know, gluten is a compound protein that makes up about 80% of food products like wheat, barley, and rye (which, like sugar, are in just about everything haha). Gluten can have many negative health effects, especially in those with celiac disease (an autoimmune disease that causes the immune system to attack gliadin, a gluten protein). One of which is bloating of the intestine, making you seem larger than “you are,” as well as causing the consumer to gain weight if it’s not expelled through some type of physical exercise.

None of this is being said to alarm you or convince you that you have a gluten problem. This is for me. Even though I don’t have celiac disease, one of my new year’s resolutions was to be more conscious of what’s going into my body and a lot of that is gluten.

As a result, starting today, I’m going to cut gluten out of my diet for one meal a day this week. I know that it’s going to be difficult to resist the things I want to eat during that one meal, but there are so many great products on the market without gluten that this could be my chance to try something new!

Have you ever gone without gluten before? Do you know of any gluten-free recipes I should try? Are you going to join me in my attempt at a healthier lifestyle? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “The Power of… Gluten??

    1. I definitely recommend that you do! Hopefully it won’t be as difficult for you as it is for me to give up the foods I love (even if it is for just one meal!).Thank you for commenting!
      ~Kay

      Like

Leave a Reply

