how-to-clean-your-makeup-brushes.png

Hello, lovely people!

Cleanliness is very important to me and maintaining that includes consistently cleaning my makeup brushes. On a daily basis, I use my Elf Cosmetics Daily Brush Cleaner, but I like to make sure my brushes get a deep cleanse every once and a while. I’m not going to lie, I don’t do it as much as I should, but I try to every 2 weeks. When I began this routine, I didn’t want to go out and buy some expensive brush cleaner, so I began scrolling through the internet in search of the perfect DIY; and I found one! I personalized it a tad and have used it ever since, so I thought I should share it with you all!

Materials Needed:

1/2 cup (118 mL) of olive oil

1/2 cup (118 mL) of liquid dish soap

Remember, use as much product as you need for the amount of brushes you have.

That’s all you need! Two “ingredients” and you’ll have clean, soft brushes fat your fingertips!

FullSizeRender 4

In a bowl, I mixed together the olive oil and dish soap, then laid out all of my brushes next to them. I like to do this next to my sink, so I can rinse them out right after I swirl them in the soap mixture.

Also, keep a dry towel near by that you can place the brushes on after they’ve been rinsed!

FullSizeRender 2FullSizeRender

After I have everything laid out properly, I begin! I take the first brush, swirl it around in the bowl until I think I’ve got a good amount of product off of it, then rinse my brushes under warm water to get the soap and olive oil off. The soap ensures that the brushes are getting cleansed, and the olive oil softens them.

FullSizeRender 5

I’m not going to lie, it is kind of satisfying to watch the old makeup that has been in your brushes wash down the drain while your brushes turn from brown to white!

FullSizeRender 3

My brushes usually take a couple hours to dry, but I usually wash them on a night when I know I won’t be applying makeup the next day, so I can let them dry overnight.

And that’s about it for this DIY. It’s outrageously simple!

Do you plan on trying this out? How’d this DIY work for you? Are there any deep cleansing brush cleaners you like to use? Let me know in the comments below!

Cover Photo

Leave a Reply

